Where does the name Xylon come from?


This designation refers to the Greek word ksulon/xylon which means wood. Xylography, or wood engraving, is the oldest printing technique. Some evidence exists, dating back a few thousands of years, that the Chinese were already engraving and printing from wood.

The Xylon International Association and its Xylon-Québec section fall under the seal of globalization. Xylon reflects and respects the human mosaic made of divers cultural approaches, it is rooted in the particularities of each of the member countries. Under the common denominator ‘relief printing’, Xylon regroups every artistic tendency, independent of materials and chromatism used or of any school of thought. Thus relief printing reinvents itself through a thematic approach...

 

Xylon-Québec

Since 1979, artist-engravers expressed the need to join Xylon International, which promotes the creation of national sections. In 1985, Xylon-Québec (Canada) officially became one of these sections. Since then, the group contributes regularly by publishing artist’s books and by organizing exhibitions, often travelling ones, in order to raise awareness about relief printing in Quebec as well as about the artists who practice this medium. Xylon-Québec is a charitable organization capable of providing tax receipts.

D'où vient Xylon ?


Cette dénomination se rapporte au terme grec ksulon/xylon, qui signifie bois. La xylographie, ou gravure sur bois, est la plus ancienne des techniques d'impression. Il nous reste des témoignages, datant de quelques mille ans avant J.-C. selon lesquels les Chinois gravaient et imprimaient déjà à partir de bois.


L'association Xylon international et sa section Xylon-Québec s'inscrivent sous le sceau de la mondialisation. Xylon respecte la mosaïque humaine composée d'approches culturelles variées et ancrées dans les particularités de chacun des pays membres. Avec comme dénominateur commun la gravure en relief, Xylon regroupe toutes les tendances artistiques, indépendamment des matériaux et du chromatisme utilisés ou de toute école de pensée. Ainsi, se réinvente la gravure par le biais d'une approche thématique...

 

Xylon-Québec

Dès 1979 des artistes graveurs manifestent le besoin de se greffer à Xylon international qui souhaite et favorise la création de sections nationales. En 1985, Xylon-Québec (Canada) devient officiellement une de ces sections. Depuis, le groupe se manifeste régulièrement en éditant des livres d’artistes et en organisant des expositions, souvent itinérantes, en vue de faire connaître la gravure en relief ainsi que les artistes qui la pratiquent.
Xylon-Québec est un organisme donataire habilité à émettre des reçus pour l'impôt.